Reflections of an Early Morning Run

December 18, 2007 at 12:37 am | Posted in Early morning run, treadmill running | 3 Comments

When my alarm awoke me for my morning run at 4:13 this morning, I quickly jumped out of bed, reset it for another hour, and climbed back into the delicious warmth of my cozy sheets and blankets.  Ahhhh! Glorious sleep!!!  That “ahhh” feeling lasted for a whopping 3 minutes.  My mind scolded my lazy body and shamed it out of bed and into my running gear.  Instead of battling the slick roads, harsh winds, and frigid temps, I opted for my treadmill in my basement.  A wise choice.

At 5:10 when I’d finished running my 6 miles I was so glad that I forced myself to get up and run.  Because I find the treadmill about as exciting as watching paint dry, I play around with the speeds and inclines.  I tell myself to run fast for 1/2 a mile and then I slow down a bit for a 1/4 mile or I run at an 8 minute clip for 1 mile, slow down for a minute or two, run a mile at a 7:49 clip, slow down.  This breaks up the monotony and actually makes the run fun (and I get a good workout!).

So, I’m off to a good start with my running for this week.  Tomorrow I’ll run the hills with the Winter Warriors at Fleet Feet.  What’s that mantra again?  Oh yeah, “Hills are my friends.”

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.