Healing and Hope

December 9, 2007 at 1:13 pm | Posted in recovery, running, Winter Warriors | 1 Comment

The human body:  What an amazing, self-healing machine it is!  Since September, I’ve been plagued with a couple of nasty injuries that have taken the joy out of running.  I’ve tried to “hang in there” with my workouts, vacillating from water running to walking to running easy to yoga.  Honestly, it’s been difficult to maintain a decent level of fitness.  Knowing that my body will heal in time and I’ll return to some basking-in-the-aftermath-of-an-awesome-run runs has helped to keep me motivated.

I’m happy to report that I’m returning from the land of the injured runners!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not ready to dive into the deep end of the competitive racing pool, but I think I may just be ready to test the racing waters with my toes. 

Yesterday I ran with a group of winter warrior runners who met at Fleet Feet Sports.  We had a great 9.5 mile run around some unfamiliar parts of Rochester (unfamiliar to me, that is).  The course was just beautiful (Highland Avenue was  stunning) and the company was interesting, entertaining, and motivating.  I’m so happy to say that I ran the entire way without stopping.  (I know, I know two months ago this would have been an easy run.) 

Today, on this second Sunday of Advent, I am hopeful and grateful.  I’m hopeful that I’ll return to my old running self soon and grateful that I was able to run nearly 10 miles yesterday and 5 days and 34.5 miles for the week.

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.