Jingle Bell Race Report

December 2, 2007 at 9:25 pm | Posted in Goals, Racing, recovery, running | Leave a comment

Winter has arrived full-force in Rochester, NY, and the weather for yesterday’s Jingle Bell 5k helped to create a feeling of Christmas.  Cold, windy, snowy, slippery are just a few adjectives that describe the environment along with festive, cheerful, motivational, and friendly.  There’s something so merry about hearing 800 or more jingle bells ringing through a crisp December air.

Although I enjoyed the course (it’s one of my local favorites) and the runners and spectators, I will admit that I had a terrible race.  My time was 25:08 (one of the worst 5k times I’ve ever run), and it earned me 8th in my age group out of 66 women.  Eighth is a tough pill to swallow, but I knew going into this race that I wasn’t in racing shape.  The injury that I sustained to my left hip is still hanging around (believe me, I’ve sternly told it to pack its bags and get lost) but at least I’m still able to shuffle along and run a few miles.  I’m just not taking home any medals.

Eating humble pie is good for me every once in a while.  My plan is to continue to slowly build up my mileage and gradually reintroduce a little speed work and hill training.  This injury has taken a lot out of me, so I’ll also focus on stretching and strengthening.  If any of you know of some effective stretches/exercises for hip flexors, adductors, and hamstrings, please send them my way.

Thank you, everyone, for your encouragement.  I’m so glad I ran the 2007 Jingle Bell 5k; it was a blast!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

